August 2021 Infrastructure Committee Meeting

The BPAC Infrastructure Committee will be meeting on Thursday, August 5, 2021, 3:30-4:30pm online and by phone.

  • To join by web, download Zoom and open the meeting here.
  • To join by phone, dial: +1 (669) 900-6833, Meeting ID: 968 8831 0205 Passcode: 526233

Click on the agenda topics to view the materials and notes.

13:30 pm15 minsIntroductionsAll
23:4530 mins14th Street Safety Project design review, state ATP-funded protected bikewayCharlie Ream (OakDOT)
34:1545 minsCaltrans encroachment permit process discussionSergio Ruiz, Amjad Naseer, and Ajay Sehgal (Caltrans D4)
45:0030 minsUpdates on proposed future agenda items, and updates on items previously reviewed by the committeeAll

BPAC and OakDOT staff in attendance:

This meeting was held virtually via webconference. Additional attendees, not committee members nor staff, also participated but are not noted here.

  • Dianne Yee (BPAC commissioner, Committee co-chair)
  • Robert Prinz (Committee co-chair)
  • Patricia Schader (BPAC commissioner, Committee member)
  • Brendan Pittman (Committee member)
  • Midori Tabata (Committee member)

  • Charlie Ream (Oakland DOT, 14th Street Downtown protected bikeway project)
  • Sergio Ruiz (Caltrans D4, encroachment permit impacts)
  • Amjad Naseer (Caltrans D4, encroachment permit impacts)
  • Ajay Sehgal (Caltrans D4, encroachment permit impacts)
  • Jennifer Stanley (Oakland DOT)
  • Jason Patton (Oakland DOT)
  • Jason Cook (Oakland DOT)
  • Joan Quan (Oakland DOT)
  • David Pené (Oakland DOT)
  • Si Lau (Oakland DOT)
  • Colin Piethe (Oakland DOT)
  • Audrey Harris (Oakland DOT)


  • BPAC = Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission, a city-appointed volunteer group that meets monthly to discuss and advise staff on bike/walk projects, policy, and funding
  • ACTC = Alameda County Transportation Commission, a county transportation agency
  • MTC = Metropolitan Transportation Commission, a regional transportation agency representing the 9 Bay Area counties
  • DOT = Department of Transportation
  • Caltrans D4 = Caltrans District 4, state transportation agency representing the Bay Area
  • ATP = Active Transportation Program, a state funding source for bike/walk projects
  • CBO = Community-based organization
  • KONO = Abbreviation for Oakland’s Koreatown Northgate business district, along Telegraph Ave north of 20th Street
  • ADA = Americans with Disabilities Act, referring to design features which enable and promote access and ease of use for people with disabilities

Future agenda item requests:

Next meeting is on Thursday, October 7, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s